Statewide Control List


Noxious weeds are plant species that are non-native and invasive by nature. Many of these species make significant modifications to the landscape. Idaho currently has 64 listed noxious weeds throughout the state. There are different categories of control for each noxious weed as stipulated in the Idaho Administrative Procedures Act 02, Title 06, chapter 22, Noxious Weed Rules. The categories affect how each weed is managed.

  • Statewide Early Detection and Rapid Response (EDRR) - plants in this category must be reported to the Idaho State Department of Agriculture (ISDA) within 10 days after being identified at the University of Idaho or by another qualified authority approved by the ISDA director. Eradication of these weeds must begin in the same season they are found.
  • Statewide Control - plants in this list may already exist in some parts of the state. In some areas of the state control or eradication is possible and a plan must be written that will reduce infestations within five years.
  • Statewide Containment - plants in this category exist in the state. New or small infestations can be reduced or eliminated, while established populations may be managed as determined by the weed control authority, which is usually the county weed program.

Please help us identify every possible location of these weeds. Call our office at 208-624-7442 for more information or to report a sighting.

Weed & Plant Gallery