Idaho's Noxious Weeds

_What are noxious weeds? Noxious weeds are plant species that are non-native and invasive by nature. Many of these species make significant modifications to the landscape. Idaho currently has 64 listed noxious weeds throughout the state. There are different categories of control for each noxious weed as stipulated in the Idaho Administrative Procedures Act 02, title 06, chapter 22, “Noxious Weed Rules.” The categories affect how each weed is managed.

Statewide early detection and rapid response (EDRR) – plants in this category must be reported to the Idaho State Department of Agriculture (ISDA) within 10 days after being identified at the University of Idaho or by another qualified authority approved by the ISDA director. Eradication of these weeds must begin in the same season they are found.

Statewide control – plants in this list may already exist in some parts of the state. In some areas of the state control or eradication is possible and a plan must be written that will reduce infestations within five (5) years.

Statewide containment – plants in this category exist in the state. New or small infestations can be reduced or eliminated, while established populations may be managed as determined by the weed control authority, which is usually the county weed program.

Virtual Field Guide of the Following Weeds

Statewide Control List

Common name: Black Henbane, Scientific name: Hyoscyamus niger

Common name: Buffalobur, Scientific name: Solanum rostratum

Common name: Common Crupina, Scientific name: Crupina vulgaris

Common name: Dyer's Woad, Scientific name: Isatis Tinctoria

Common name: Johnsongrass, Scientific name: Sorghum halepense

Common name: Musk Thistle, Scientific name: Carduus nutans

Common name: Russian Knapweed, Scientific name: Acroptilon repens

Common name: Scotch Broom, Scientific name: Cytisus scoparius

Statewide Containment List

Common name: Canada Thistle, Scientific name: Cirsium arvense

Common name: Dalmatian Toadflax, Scientific name: Linaria dalmatica ssp. dalmatica

Common name: Diffuse Knapweed, Scientific name: Centaurea diffusa

Common name: Field Bindweed/Morning Glory, Scientific name: Convolvulus arvensis

Common name: Houndstongue, Scientific name: Cynoglossum officinale

Common name: Jointed Goatgrass, Scientific name: Aegilpos cylindrica

Common name: Leafy Spurge, Scientific name: Euphorbia esula

Common name: Oxeye Daisy, Scientific name: Leucanthemum vulgare

Common name: Poison Hemlock, Scientific name: Conium maculatum

Common name: Puncturevine, Scientific name: Tribulus terrestris

Common name: Saltcedar, Scientific name: Tamarix sp.

Common name: Scotch Thistle, Scientific name: Onopordum acanthium

Common name: Spotted Knapweed, Scientific name: Centaurea stoebe

Common name: Tansy Ragwort, Scientific name: Senecio jacobaea

Common name: White Bryony, Scientific name: Bryonia alba

Common name: Whitetop, Scientific name: Cardaria draba

Common name: Yellow Flag Iris, Scientific name: Iris psudocorus

Common name: Yellow Starthistle, Scientific name: Centaurea solstitialis

Common name: Yellow Toadflax, Scientific name: Linaria vulgaris

Please help us identify every possible location of these weeds. Call our office at 208-624-7442 for more information or to report a sighting.